Widget is loading comments...


Posted by Joel Heck on Thursday, March 14, 2013
With this new posting, just thirteen days after the previous one, I have completed the summarizing of contents of the letters of Lewis through 1947. During this work, I noticed several letters previously not included (although I don't know why, probably just carelessness on the first read-through of Volume 2), hence the value of proofreading Collected Letters, Volume 2. One letter was to Sister Penelope and another to Dorothy L. Sayers. They don't tell much of what Lewis was doing, but they are new information. A minor mistake or two was corrected, and, of course, four more years have the content of the letters summarized. These themes create a much readable narrative and sometimes enable one to see connections between various events in a given month or year. One additional item is that I added some information on May 11, 1959, which is the date that Lewis delivered his "Fern-seed and Elephants" address (later renamed "Modern Theology and Biblical Criticism") at Westcott House in Cambridge. I have included names of people who were present for that talk, plus a bit more historical detail, based on research I did in Cambridge, England last fall while on sabbatical. My article on that talk will be presented at a Lewis conference at Houston Baptist University on March 22, little less than a week from today. I will be interested in the reaction of those present. Perhaps you will be there.

Tags: "fern-seed and elephants" 
blog comments powered by Disqus

This is the latest Lewis chronology:

Chronologically Lewis November 1 2018.pdf Chronologically Lewis November 1 2018.pdf
Size : 9197.451 Kb
Type : pdf

The file that appears below lists all works of C. S. Lewis in chronological order (now 488 in number, one more than the previous version because of the addition of the brief "Undergraduate Criticism" from 1960) in the location where they were first published or delivered (if spoken) as far as I am able to determine. Corrections are welcome. This version, slightly revised and added on March 18, 2017, includes works listed in the bibliography of Adam Barkman's C. S. Lewis & Philosophy as a Way of Life. It also includes the recently discovered (by Christopher Marsh) "A Christmas Sermon for Pagans."

TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf
Size : 316.051 Kb
Type : pdf

This file describes what is happening in Oxford, Cambridge, the UK, and Europe at the time that Lewis writes his various poems, essays, and books, dividing the life and writings of Lewis by academic topic, i.e. English, Philosophy, History, etc. 

Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf
Size : 1550.013 Kb
Type : pdf