August 4, 1938

Posted by Joel Heck on Monday, December 22, 2014
Thanks to Colin Harris of the Bodleian Library, I am updating this chronology with only about two hundred more words and no additional pages. The page count is the same as the previous listing. However, Mr. Harris provided me with information about August 4, 1938, when C. S. Lewis read his narrative poem "The Queen of Drum" at Oxford Summer Diversions, an event that Nevill Coghill was involved in. The reason for this update is that this is the sort of thing that will be necessary in the future, if this chronology is to grow. I have read and incorporated most of the diaries of Warren Lewis, and I have added much of the material from The Lewis Papers. There is not much left to incorporate from the typical, published Lewis works. Most of the information about Aug. 4, 1938 has been incorporated in an approximately 100-word posting for that date. August 1938 previously had only one entry. Now it has two! But other special collections in various places will provide additional information, much like Bruce Johnson's work on the RAF. If you know of any such information, please send it to me.

In addition, I have added the rest of the number of entries in a given year to the heading for each year. Most of them were present already, but a few of the years had no number after it in parentheses. I have completed that task. It will give the researcher a glance at how much information is available for that year and the likelihood of finding what they are looking for. In years early and late (1898-1910 as well as 1964-1973), as one might guess, there is not much information.

Tags: 1938 "nevill coghill" 
blog comments powered by Disqus

This is the latest Lewis chronology in Word format:

Chronologically Lewis December 1 2022.docx Chronologically Lewis December 1 2022.docx
Size : 6503.318 Kb
Type : docx
All Spotlights.pdf All Spotlights.pdf
Size : 59.188 Kb
Type : pdf
TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf
Size : 313.351 Kb
Type : pdf

The file that appears below lists all works of C. S. Lewis in chronological order (now 528 in number) in the location where they were first published or delivered (if spoken) as far as I am able to determine. Corrections are welcome. This version, slightly revised and added on May 13, 2020, includes a corrected date for "Transposition" on June 9, 1946.

This file describes what is happening in Oxford, Cambridge, the UK, and Europe at the time that Lewis writes his various poems, essays, and books, dividing the life and writings of Lewis by academic topic, i.e. English, Philosophy, History, etc. 

Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf
Size : 1550.013 Kb
Type : pdf