Collected Letters, Volume II

Posted by Joel Heck on Friday, March 29, 2013
This updated chronology includes all of the contents of Jack's letters, briefly summarized, from Volume II of Collected Letters. It covers the years 1931 through 1949. As in the previous versions, I have included a couple of letters previously not included (I somehow missed them the first time through) and a few events previously overlooked. A very few corrections to the chronology were made. This version also includes a date for the publication of The Four Loves, which I got from William O'Flaherty, and the date of Jack's conversion to theism, explained by both Alister McGrath and Andrew Lazo. The next step is to work through Volume I of Collected Letters, summarizing the contents of those letters also. That, of course, is the least valuable volume for the life and works of Lewis, but still valuable in itself.

blog comments powered by Disqus

This is the latest Lewis chronology in Word format:

Chronologically Lewis February 1 2023.docx Chronologically Lewis February 1 2023.docx
Size : 6502.192 Kb
Type : docx
All Spotlights.pdf All Spotlights.pdf
Size : 59.188 Kb
Type : pdf
TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf
Size : 313.351 Kb
Type : pdf

The file that appears below lists all works of C. S. Lewis in chronological order (now 528 in number) in the location where they were first published or delivered (if spoken) as far as I am able to determine. Corrections are welcome. This version, slightly revised and added on May 13, 2020, includes a corrected date for "Transposition" on June 9, 1946.

This file describes what is happening in Oxford, Cambridge, the UK, and Europe at the time that Lewis writes his various poems, essays, and books, dividing the life and writings of Lewis by academic topic, i.e. English, Philosophy, History, etc. 

Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf
Size : 1550.013 Kb
Type : pdf