Edwin Brown

Posted by Joel Heck on Sunday, March 9, 2014
Ordinarily I wouldn't upload a new version just four days after the previous one, but this is different. I have just finished reading Edwin Brown's In Pursuit of C. S. Lewis, after owning it for seven years and never reading it until now. I recently learned that a lot of chronological information appears in the book, so I have incorporated nearly 3,000 words of information about publication dates, especially first American editions of Lewis's books. An occasional date is a new date, and lots of information already present now has a footnote with documentation for the source, which hasn't previously been there. In case I never stated it, anything not footnoted probably comes from one of three sources: (1) Jack's diary from 1922-1927, All My Road Before Me; (2) Jack's letters, now in three volumes edited by Walter Hooper; and (3) Warren's diaries, both the published and the unpublished diaries, the latter which I am in the process of reading. I am also carefully rereading Collected Letters, Volume I, looking for new details, corrections, and some information for a book I am working on. That rereading has provided some significant additional information, since I am now at page 420. So nearly every publication date is now in this chronology, at least up until 1973, the year that Warren died. Good reading and research to all!

blog comments powered by Disqus

This is the latest Lewis chronology in Word format:

Chronologically Lewis February 1 2023.docx Chronologically Lewis February 1 2023.docx
Size : 6502.192 Kb
Type : docx
All Spotlights.pdf All Spotlights.pdf
Size : 59.188 Kb
Type : pdf
TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf TheCompleteWorksofCSLewis.pdf
Size : 313.351 Kb
Type : pdf

The file that appears below lists all works of C. S. Lewis in chronological order (now 528 in number) in the location where they were first published or delivered (if spoken) as far as I am able to determine. Corrections are welcome. This version, slightly revised and added on May 13, 2020, includes a corrected date for "Transposition" on June 9, 1946.

This file describes what is happening in Oxford, Cambridge, the UK, and Europe at the time that Lewis writes his various poems, essays, and books, dividing the life and writings of Lewis by academic topic, i.e. English, Philosophy, History, etc. 

Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf Intellectual History of Oxford and Cambridge.pdf
Size : 1550.013 Kb
Type : pdf